Leadership set for new term of City Council

(Press release from the City of Ottawa.)

City Council today approved the new team of individuals who will lead and serve on Ottawa’s committees and boards, and who will serve as Deputy Mayors for the 2014-2018 Term of Council.

Councillors Bob Monette and Mark Taylor will serve as Deputy Mayors, who act in place of the Mayor when he is unavailable or absent.

Councillor Jody Mitic will serve as Sports Commissioner and will work closely with the Economic Development and Innovation Department to help support the City’s efforts to attract more large-scale sporting events.

Councillors Mathieu Fleury and Jean Cloutier will serve as Co-Chairs on the City’s Task Force on Canada’s 150th Anniversary.

City Council’s governance structure includes a new Audit Committee, replacing the previous Audit-Sub-Committee, which reported to the Finance and Economic Development Committee, strengthening the focus on the Audit function.

Committee and Board appointments approved by Council today are as follows:

Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee: Chair Councillor Scott Moffatt, Vice-Chair Councillor George Darouze, Councillors Eli El-Chantiry, Stephen Blais and Allan Hubley


Audit Committee: Chair Councillor Allan Hubley, Vice-Chair Councillor Jean Cloutier, Councillors Bob Monette, Marianne Wilkinson, Eli El-Chantiry and George Darouze


Community and Protective Services Committee: Chair Councillor Diane Deans, Vice-Chair Councillor Riley Brockington, Councillors Jody Mitic, Shad Qadri, Rick Chiarelli, Keith Egli, Mathieu Fleury, Tobi Nussbaum, George Darouze and Michael Qaqish


Environment Committee: Chair Councillor David Chernushenko, Vice-Chair Councillor Rick Chiarelli, Councillors Jody Mitic, Mark Taylor, Catherine McKenney, Jeff Leiper, Riley Brockington, Jean Cloutier, Scott Moffatt and Michael Qaqish


Finance and Economic Development Committee: Chair Mayor Jim Watson, Vice-Chair Councillor Eli El-Chantiry, Councillors Bob Monette, Mark Taylor, Scott Moffatt, Allan Hubley, Diane Deans, David Chernushenko, Jan Harder, Stephen Blais and Keith Egli


Information Technology Sub-Committee: Chair Councillor Rick Chiarelli, Vice-Chair Councillor Jeff Leiper, Councillors Marianne Wilkinson, Tim Tierney and George Darouze


Member Services Sub-Committee: Chair Eli El-Chantiry, Vice-Chair Councillor Mathieu Fleury, Councillors Bob Monette, Jan Harder, Mark Taylor and Diane Deans


Planning Committee: Chair Councillor Jan Harder, Vice-Chair Councillor Tim Tierney, Councillors Shad Qadri, Rick Chiarelli, Tobi Nussbaum, Jeff Leiper, Riley Brockington, Jean Cloutier, Stephen Blais and Allan Hubley


Built Heritage Sub-Committee: Chair Tobi Nussbaum, Councillors Marianne Wilkinson, Catherine McKenney and Scott Moffatt. Public members of the BHSC are Barry Padolsky, Carolyn Quinn and Sandy Smallwood


Transit Commission: Chair Councillor Stephen Blais, Vice-Chair Councillor Michael Qaqish, Councillors Marianne Wilkinson, Keith Egli, Tim Tierney, Tobi Nussbaum, Jeff Leiper and Jean Cloutier


Transportation Committee: Chair Councillor Keith Egli, Vice-Chair Councillor Catherine McKenney, Councillors Bob Monette, Jody Mitic, Shad Qadri, Diane Deans, Mathieu Fleury, David Chernushenko, George Darouze, Scott Moffatt and Michael Qaqish


Ottawa Police Services Board: Recommended Chair Nominee Councillor Eli El-Chantiry, Councillors Jan Harder and Tim Tierney for Mayor Watson


Ottawa Public Library Board: Recommended Chair Nominee Councillor Tim Tierney, Councillors Marianne Wilkinson, Catherine McKenney and Scott Moffatt


Ottawa Board of Health: Recommended Chair Nominee Councillor Shad Qadri, Councillors Mark Taylor, Mathieu Fleury, Catherine McKenney, David Chernushenko and Michael Qaqish


Hydro Ottawa Holding Inc.: Councillor Jan Harder for Mayor Watson, Councillor Marianne Wilkinson


Ottawa Community Housing Corporation: In addition to Mayor Watson, recommended Chair Nominee Councillor Mathieu Fleury, Councillors Jody Mitic, Mark Taylor and Catherine McKenney


City of Ottawa Superannuation Fund: In addition to Mayor Watson, Councillors Tobi Nussbaum, Riley Brockington and Jean Cloutier


Central Canada Exhibition Association: Councillors Bob Monette, Riley Brockington and George Darouze


Ottawa Community Lands Development Corporation: In addition to Mayor Watson and the Ward Councillors, Jan Harder and Rick Chiarelli, Chair Councillor Marianne Wilkinson and Councillors Diane Deans, Jeff Leiper, David Chernushenko and Stephen Blais


Manotick Mill Quarter Community Development Corporation: Chair Councillor Scott Moffatt, Vice-Chair Councillor George Darouze, Councillors Eli El-Chantiry, Stephen Blais and Allan Hubley


Mississippi Valley Conservation Authority: Councillors Marianne Wilkinson and Eli El-Chantiry


Rideau Valley Conservation Authority: Councillor Scott Moffatt


South Nation Conservation Authority: Councillor Stephen Blais


Crime Prevention Ottawa: Chair Councillor Shad Qadri and Councillor Jeff Leiper


Shaw Centre: Councillor Mathieu Fleury for Mayor Watson


Film and Television Committee: Councillors Rick Chiarelli and Jeff Leiper


Members of City Council appointed to various municipal organizations are as follows:


Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO): Councillor Mark Taylor


Association of Francophone Municipalities of Ontario (AFMO): Councillor Jean Cloutier


Canadian Capital Cities Organization (CCCO): Councillor Bob Monette


Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM): Councillor Tim Tierney


Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA): Councillor Eli El-Chantiry


Leave a Reply